Dr. Firestone to lead AOCS in 1978-79

Dr. David Firestone, senior research chemist for the Bureau of Foods, will be installed officially as president of the American Oil Chemists' Society for the coming year during the AOCS' 69th Annual Meeting in St. Louis this month.

Elected to serve with Dr. Firestone are Dr. N.O.V. Sonntag, vice president; Frank Naughton, treasurer; Frank Luddy, secretary; R.G. Krishnamurthy, N. Pelick, and T.H. Smouse, members-at-large of the Governing Board.

Ballots were distributed earlier this year to 3,100 voting members of the AOCS. A total of 1,157 valid ballots were returned; there were five spoiled ballots.

Dr. Sonntag, who served as AOCS secretary during the past year, is technical director for Southland Chemical Division in Dallas, TX. He previously had been a memberat-large of the Governing Board and has served on numerous AOCS committees. He has been a member of AOCS since 1953. Under AOCS by-laws, he will serve as president in 1979-80.

Frank Naughton, a member-at-large of the Governing Board during the past year, is manager of the plastics and specialty chemicals laboratory for the Industrial Chemicals Division of NL Industries in Hightstown, NJ. He served as general chairman of the 1977 annual meeting held in New York and was a 1977 recipient of the AOCS Award of Merit. A member of the Society since 1955, he has been active on numerous committees.

Succeeding Dr. Sonntag as secretary will be Frank Luddy, senior research chemist at the USDA's Eastern Regional Research Center in Philadelphia, PA. He has served on varied AOCS committees and on national meeting committees on several occasions, including being co-general chairman for a national meeting during 1974. He has been an AOCS membersince 1944.

Dr. R.G. Krishnamurthy, a senior group leader in Edible Oil Products for Kraft Inc., Research and Development, will be serving his second term as a member-at-large of the Governing Board, having also been elected to that post in 1974. He was technical program chairman for the 1976 national meeting in Chicago and a 1974 recipient of the AOCS Award of Merit. He has served on many committees and is chairman of the local sections committee. He has been a member of the Society since 1963.

Nicholas Pelick, president of Supelco Inc. of Bellefonte, PA, has been a member of the AOCS Foundation Board since 1972 and has served as chairman since 1976. He has served as cochairman for three AOCS short courses and as a speaker at three others. He has been a member of the Society since 1962.

Dr. T.H. Smouse, manager of Lipid Sciences, Venture Management, Ralston-Purina Co., St. Louis, served as technical program chairman for the AOCS Spring Meeting in 1975, and is hotel chairman for the 1978 Annual Meeting in St. Louis. He has been active in numerous AOCS committees, having been in AOCS since 1962.

Drs. Krishnamurthy and Smouse each received the AOCS Honored Student Award in 1963 as students at Rutgers University.



R.G. Krishnamurthy



N. Pelick



T.H. Smouse



D. Firestone



N.O.V. Sonntag



F. Naughton



F. Luddy